idols in saiva siddhantham-3
  • freinds to add further into the symbolisms in saiva siddhantha i humbly write the pachakra pahrodai to its later verses:

    The five kanus of a sugarcane:
    The panchakra pahrodai makes the principles simple by giving an analogy of the sugar cane and its ".kanus". the sugar cane is called the gnana karumbu and it is also mentioned in other earlier literature and patinathar too.
    The various states of the mind are described as sakkiram, soppanam,dhoorium, suzhuthi..etc. these states are described in mandookya upanisads. These conscious states descriptions are one of the earliest concepts in veda. This is in fact the hindu phenomenology and existentialism.
    The states of conscious can be brought about from one stage to another by systematic sadhanas. The sadhanas are similar to modern psycho-analysis. The stepsare divided to five by the saiva tradition for the sake of simplicity and easy understanding. The five steps in the ascending order are: ma-na-ya-va-si ( sivayanama)
    The sugar cane analogy is a symbolism . sugar cane by itself is not a principle.
    The five kanu are:
    Ma: thtva roopam,tatva darsanam, tatva suthi and anma roopam : ninmala sakkiram
    Na: anma darsanam, sivaroopam , : ninmala swapnam
    Ya: ninmala suzhuthi
    Va: anma suthi,anma siva darisanam, siva yogam: ninmala dhooriyam
    Si: siva boham(anma labam)

    The jeeva is in the beddha state initially and it is called the beddha state: ma-na-ya
    It progresses to the mukthi state gradually : va-si

    This progress from beddha state to mukthi state is the essence of pachakram
    The mantra there fore is a symbolism of the progress of the soul to higher state.
    In the beddha states the jeevan is bound by the pasu knowledges only. It is the embodiment of of the worldly pleasures. The bondages of pasa occupies it. The pasa are anava,kanma and maya..

    By knowng the siva alone the nandi can reach the pthi(linga). The jeeva (nandi) by taking the panchakra principles leaves the pasa malams and reaches the siva. That is the muthi state.

    The beddah states the soul progress from one step to another by the ten steps.
    The ten steps are:
    1.tatva roopam
    2.tatva darsanam
    3.tatva suthi
    4.anma roopam
    5.anama darsanam
    6.anma suddhi
    7.siva roopam
    8.siva darsanam
    9.siva yogam
    10. siva boham

    Siva boham is the highest state. The ten steps are called dhasa kaiam. They will be discussed in the following letter.

    gandhi chidambaram
  • Dear Gandhi, thank you for taking time to explain this great and complex philosophy in simple terms,

    I am looking forward to the next one,


Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Top Posters