Kamba and his period
  • Hi Friends,
    I am not an expert in this topic however I have heard a lot about Mr Sankar's
    topic of 'Ramayana before Kamban', Hence I thought that an article I read on a
    blog might be interesting. I usually follow this blog as he writes on some
    interesting topics. In this article, he has tried to assign period of Kamba,
    which as per him is 12-13th century. Is this accepted period or there are other
    theories as well?

http://controversialhistory.blogspot.com/2010/08/date-of-kambar-and-kambaramayanam.html
  • I have read only one article of the blog long back. That is about kanchi Mutt.

Even with my limited knowledge, i can conclusively say that this person had not done any research or for that matter would not have read any articles/epigraphs/inscriptions.

All important deities, mutts moved out of Kanchi during Anglo french war. . There is an epigraph on Varadharaja leaving Kanchi and returning after the end of .

The Kamatchi utsava idol was moved to tanjore and now there is a separate temple for the " bangaru kamatchi" in tanjore built during that time.

A person can have an alternate view but that view should present with clear proof.

Hence i did not feel reading any of his articles.

With regard to the period of Kamban - There are 2 views. One to 12th. Based on certain proof.

Ragava Iyengar - work - On confirming 12th. But is in Tamil.

http://www.infitt.org/pmadurai/pm_etexts/pdf/pm0202.pdf

The other is 9th. That methodology is based on a different approcah. The recent post by our vairam explains that approach. Those researchers view is also equally importatnt.

I am collecting every thing related to Rama/Ramayana till end of 11th.

Then compile them as - till 8th and 9th to 11th.

My Sundays visit may yield something intresting on scluptures. I have 2 literary works belonging to 9th.

I will post them one by one.

Who know - we may hit a jackpot. Like Kanthalur Chalai.